top of page

Writer's block cured

I was writing the first draft of my third and final book of the Revelation series, (From Dawn to Dusk) and half way through, I got stuck! 'How was I going to finish this off?' I thought to myself. The pinnacle of the series where the Dawn of Revelations fight to retake Earth, and I didn't know how to unfold it. I had the ideas, I just couldn't put it into words.

Fast forward a few months (taking a break from writing can be good - get a new fresh perspective), and I go on a holiday. Five weeks actually, on the Golden Princess, cruising from Sydney to Brisbane, then two stops in Fiji, five in Hawaii, three in Tahiti, two in New Zealand before heading back to Sydney. Total of 35 days.

Golden Princess in Sydney

It was so good to be sitting there on the deck with nothing but ocean and sky all around, that I managed to write over 25,000 additional words, (on my days at sea of course), and finish the first draft! Not only that, I re-read through the story twice to find grammatical errors and plot holes to fix, and now that I am back home, I will use a program called 'Pro Writing Aid' to further my editing before sending it to a professional.

This was something I don't think I could have ever accomplished had I remained home. So if you can, get out there. Go somewhere different and refresh your mind. But sometimes, you may need to just take a breather from your work. The words will come.

Revelations - Far From Earth and Revelations - The Cost of Foresight are available for purchase. Please click on the picture below to be taken to my Amazon page. Thank you for reading.

Revelations series Amazon page

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page